Databases
and Indexes - Available for the Virginia Tech Community Only
IMPORTANT: If you are a Virginia Tech extended
campus user (you do not use the campus in-bound modem pool for access)
please go to the Virginia Tech Extended
Campus Users page for more information on accessing databases.
|
- The
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
(ABSEES).
- CIAO - Columbia International
Affairs Online. Working papers from university research
institutes, conference proceedings, policy briefs, foundation
research projects, journal articles, and books on international
affairs. Coverage: 1991 to present. Also provided by VIVA--The
Virtual Library of Virginia .
- EIU - The Economist Intelligence
Unit - Country Reports. Political and economic analyses
of individual countries. All East European and former USSR
successor countries are included. Online materials date
to 1996. Paper country reports and country profiles date
to late 1970s.
VT users only.
- For
Direct Access to the Country Profiles [Annual].
- For
Direct Access to the Country Reports [Quarterly].
- For
Direct Acces to the European Policy Analyst [Quarterly].
- Free abridgement on the Web: EIU
Country Briefings. Brief statistical and narrative
overviews of 60 countries.
- Ethnic NewsWatch.
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers,
magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native
press. Central, East Europe, and the Former USSR are represented
in this database.
- Factiva.
Factiva (formerly known as Dow Jones Interactive).
Provides full-text access to 8000 magazines, trade journals,
newspapers and newswires as well as company and industry
reports and web sites.
- FirstSearch.
Over 40 databases are available in the FirstSearch service.
Periodical indexes, book review indexes, dissertation listings,
and other categories of indexes. Available to affiliates
of Virginia Tech only. Also provided by VIVA--The
Virtual Library of Virginia.
- Ingenta
- Welcome to Virginia Tech Gateway (formerly CARL Uncover).
Document delivery and current awareness service covering
nearly 25,000 periodical titles. New Users must create an
account through the Virginia Tech gateway.
-
ISI Web of Knowledge. Provides access to the Arts
& Humanities Citation Index, the Social Sciences
Citation Index, and the Science Citation Index
from 1987 to the present. Materials on Slavic, East European,
and Former USSR topics are included. Also provided by VIVA--The
Virtual Library of Virginia.
- J-STOR - Journal
Storage; The Scholarly Journal Archive. A collection
of journals in electronic format, current and archival,
dating back into the 19th century. List
of Journals by subject that can be searched. Includes
a group of Economics journals. The Slavic
Studies Journal List. VT users only.
- LexisNexis
Academic. [VT users only] -- Access to over 1 billion
full-text documents covering a wide variety of subjects.
See titles
list. and FactBook
(pdf format).
- MLA
International Bibliography. Database to articles
on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from
over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide. 1963
to the present. Also provided by VIVA--The
Virtual Library of Virginia.
- Linguistics
and Language Behavior Abstracts. Covers descriptive,
historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics
in the Social
Sciences section of Cambridge
Scientific Abstracts.
Also provided by VIVA--The
Virtual Library of Virginia.
- The Music Index
Onlinw . Covering all styles and genres of music,
The Music Index cites book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals,
and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music
industry.
- Project Muse
- Scholarly Journals Online. The John Hopkins University
Press electronic journal publishing project. Listing of
journals
by title and listing of journals
by subject and journals
by collection. Also provided by VIVA--The
Virtual Library of Virginia.
- RosBusinessConsulting
Database. Database on Russia, the CIS, and the rest
of the world. On search form, choose 'Date'
option ('all available dates' is the most comprehensive
and 'latest 6 months' is default) and type terms in 'Search
for' boxes ('Full Text' is the most comprehensive
and 'Headline' is default) and examine other options. More
Information on RosBusinessConsulting. Also provided
by VIVA--The Virtual Library
of Virginia.
-
ScienceDirect® is a database from Elsevier Science
that provides abstract and full-text access to nearly 3000
journals.
|
Return to Top of Page.
Return to
Slavic, East European, and Former USSR Resources Page.
|